Carrickfergus Borough Council - Council

Cookies on this website At Carrickfergus Borough Council, we use a small number of cookies on our website. You can find out more about our cookies usage policy and how to change your privacy settings or continue if you are happy to receive all cookies on the website


Council header image

Carrickfergus Borough Council lies approximately eight miles to the north of Belfast, close to both air and sea links. With a population of approximately 40,000, the Borough consists of three predominant settlements; Whitehead to the north, Greenisland to the south and Carrickfergus town centre occupying the middle ground.

The Executive side of Council (non-political) is made up of four distinct Departments all overseen by the Town Clerk and Chief Executive's Office. The Departments are Building Services, Development Services, Support Services and Environmental Services.

The roles and responsibilities conferred on the Council by the Local Government Act 1972 are three-fold -

  • A Direct Role in which the Council is responsible for the provision of services within its own area eg, refuse collection, leisure services, community services, recreation grounds, parks and burial grounds
  • A Representative Role, where nominees of the Councilsit as representatives on many other boards, panels and committees eg housing, health, education and local community organisations
  • A Consultative Role in which the Council reflects the views of the electorate on the operation of regional services provided by central government and other statutory agencies eg planning, roads, housing, water and sewerage services. These bodies present their policies and programmes for scrutiny by the Council on a regular basis

The political wing of the Council comprises 17 members representing the following parties - Democratic Unionist Party, Ulster Unionist Party, Alliance Party and the Ratepayers Voice. Council elections are held every 4 years with the next in 2015.

Awards logo 

Diversity Champion

For further information please contact:

Lisa Adair - Co Director Community and Leisure
Telephone: 028 9335 8003